Racial Reconciliation

Standard

*This is a post I wrote a few years ago. I have since left DC and moved back to my hometown. It’s been an interesting transition.

I live in a diverse city. I love that there are so many people represented.

I grew up in a small town. There are two cities separated by a river: one town mainly black; the other white. It’s hard to go from city living to my small town because I see the difference in mindset.

I spent the last year tutoring kids in the inner city and I was in the minority. I had no idea what I was getting into or the culture my kids had. I was a student myself as I learned more about their language/slang, how people viewed other races (mostly through observations on riding the bus), and talking with students and teachers alike. I have always loved different cultures and my experiences abroad helped me with this new experience in seeing a different culture IN MY OWN CITY.

I don’t know that I have any answers for how to get along other than LISTENING goes a long way.

There were many times this year as I was riding the bus that I just wanted to stand up and shout “I’M SORRY”. On behalf of the white population who goes about not knowing the struggles of other races, I’M SORRY. But at the same time, please don’t group us all together. I try not to do that to your race.

Resources:

  • Gracism by Dr. David Anderson
  • Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela (Due to African names, I recommend reading it with the audiobook. I love to hear people read to me.)
Leave a Reply

