Grad School

Standard

Grad school is the reason this year was the STAYCATION year in DC. Checking this one off my Bucket List.

There are really no words. But I am going to try to capture this moment.

This fall has been the hardest season of my life.

But, tonight, I went to my last grad school class.

I am DONE.

The joy and sense of accomplishment is indescribable.

A year and a half ago, I was a completely different person. When I moved to DC three years ago, I had no desire to ever go to grad school. I was debt free. (*side note: I have a Masters degree and am less than $6000 in debt. Thanks to two years of serving with AmeriCorps and paying throughout the year and half I’ve been in school. Life wisdom I learned the first time in college to pay as much as you can as you go to decrease the amount of interest paid).

There have been many miracles through this journey. So many conversations with peers, mentors, parents, and students. It has been a roller coaster of emotions – so many tears and shouts of frustration along with pictures of students actually learning and the joy of investing in young people.

This journey with grad school and my first fall of teaching has allowed me to gain wisdom the hard way. It has taught me that the more I learn, the more I learn how much I don’t know. I feel uncomfortable hearing the title “Master” because I really feel like I scratched the surface of Teaching Early Childhood. Teaching continues to humble me, kind of how I imagine parenting feels. It has taught me the value of friendship, family, counseling, and rest.

I’ve had conversations with my Uber drivers (my current form of commute) about grad school. The guy who drove me to my last class asked when I would be teaching college or becoming a principal because he didn’t think someone with a Masters should stay teaching elementary school. HA! ENOUGH! I am just trying to enjoy this accomplishment without thinking about what’s next.

But I’ve learned to #NeverSayNever (Cue Brandy, not Justin Bieber).

Leave a Reply

