First Day of School Jitters

Standard

You know the feeling you get right before jumping off a cliff (into water, of course)?!

That’s how I feel right now as I experience (yet again) the first day of school tomorrow. I am co-teaching second grade this year. I am excited about my new adventure, nervous to see how things play out, but overall really pumped to be working with students in a great school!

I hate to admit it, but I was made for this.

My love for education runs deep. What other first grader was told by classmates she should be a librarian when she’s older because of her love for books? Who spends recess time as a fourth and fifth grader helping in first grade classrooms? What high school students finds the time to tutor an elementary student every week after school in the next town?

As an adult, my love just grew. I am still in touch with some of my teachers and had the privilege to work for my fourth grade teacher-turned-principal as a sub in her school! I subbed for four years — and loved it!

Last year I was a reading tutor in the inner city. I miss my kids! They taught me a lot about life, loss, unconditional love, and so much more. They are resilient and strong.

I am grateful to be a part of the program I am in, working with the people I do, and getting ready for the adrenaline rush of the first day of school!

Bring it on, second grade!

Leave a Reply

