DC Living: Travel

Standard

In DC, WMATA is your friend.

OK, so maybe there are metro problems. Lines close. You have to be flexible and plan around it.

But for the most part, I am rarely in a hurry when using public transportation. I do not use the metro for my commute — I take two buses.

That being said, if you DON’T know, there’s a 7-day bus pass you can purchase on the WMATA site for $17.50. If you ride the bus more than 10 times/week, it actually works in your favor. I take the bus to church as well, so it’s a good deal for me.

Buses go pretty much everywhere, so I’m glad I’ve mostly overcome my fear of sitting next to strangers (man, the school bus I rode when I was younger could be so brutal while sitting next to older kids…).

App I use: DC Metro Transit
Includes Metro Map, Next Bus/Train, Trip Planner and more.

Cars are another story in DC… Next post will cover that…

Leave a Reply

