“I feel like th…

Quote

“I feel like the feminine has been a little undervalued.” [Kirsten Dunst] said, “We all have to get our own jobs and make our own money, but staying at home, nurturing, being the mother, cooking – it’s a valuable thing my mum created. And sometimes, you need your knight in shining armour. I’m sorry. You need a man to be a man and a woman to be a woman. That’s why relationships work … ”

While many people are up in arms about what Kirsten Dunst said, I am interested.

Why is it that we are so easily offended today? We are supposedly more tolerant than ever, but I find the opposite is true. Our intolerance of differing opinions is ridiculous sometimes. Why shouldn’t she be free to express her own opinion on the matter? 

It seems to ring true that more and more women are getting jobs, making money, and getting more degrees at a younger age. But is this because of a lack of options for settling down with a man? I have talked to several of my fellow single twenty-something girlfriends who long to be wives and mothers, but because of men failing to make a move in relationships, they are working and furthering their education. I don’t think it’s a bad thing, but people are waiting longer to have kids and settle down. Makes me wonder what this new generation of kids will be like with parents who want to experience it all before settling down. 

Cooking seems to be a lost art. Not saying that women are the only ones who should cook, but why shouldn’t women WANT to pursue the blessings that come from being a wife and a mother by nurturing her family? I look forward to those days, and I hope I have enough energy to take care of little ones. 

To read the whole article from The Washington Post, click here.

Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

