5 Observations about Son of God movie

Video

Last night I went to a free screening of Son of God.

A few things about it…

  1. If you get caught up in exact Biblical details, you might not like it. In spots, they used artistic license to make scenes work.
  2. The actors have British accents. It really made me laugh. But maybe that’s the way the directors wanted it (Don’t we often picture Jesus similar to ourselves?).
  3. I would not recommend this for the 13 and under crowd. Much like “Passion of the Christ”, some scenes contain violence.
  4. They really made Thomas a more important disciple than any other Jesus film I’ve seen — brilliant with his realistic, sarcastic, and sometimes pessimistic view on things.
  5. It was interesting seeing the dynamics between the High Priest and Pilate. Again, more so than any other Jesus movie, I felt they did a great job of focusing in on the tension between the two powers.

I walked away AMAZED AND CONFUSED (to borrow a title from an upcoming book by my coworker Heather Zempel).

The Story of God still baffles me sometimes when I stop to think about it. Isn’t it amazing (and sometimes confusing) to think that God in all that He is loves people so much?!

The Church started with eleven men on a mission. So thankful for their persistence in getting the Word out to many people.

I walked away from the movie last night with a deeper love for Jesus.

Have you seen it? Are you going to see it? I’d love to know people’s thoughts.

Leave a Reply

