Biblical Fasting

Standard

It has become really popular in Christian circles to start, work on together, and talk about the Daniel fast.

It helps that Rick Warren co-authored a book called The Daniel Plan. New Year, New You in 2014. Perfectly timed with New Year’s Resolutions. The idea behind it is great, and I like the idea of doing the fast with someone for accountability, especially if you are married.

However, as I look at the Bible and what it has to say about fasting, I cannot help but think people are going about this in the wrong way.

Matthew 6.16-18 (The Message): “When you practice some appetite-denying discipline to better concentrate on God, don’t make a production out of it. It might turn you into a small-time celebrity but it won’t make you a saint. If you ‘go into training’ inwardly, act normal outwardly. Shampoo and comb your hair, brush your teeth, wash your face. God doesn’t require attention-getting devices. He won’t overlook what you are doing; he’ll reward you well.

Am I less spiritual than my peers because I have chosen not to do The Daniel Fast in January? No. I do believe God is working on their behalf and answering prayers in a big way for our church, but I want to understand going into a fast what I am doing.

My fast may not look like yours. That’s ok.

So here’s to being secretive about something in your life for once!

Leave a Reply

